YSBA Comes Home with 6 OBA Awards
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario - On November 21st, 2016, Baseball Ontario handed out their annual awards at their AGM Dinner. As in previous years, the YSBA had nominees in all categories. Our first winner was Natalie Shears from Markham who took home the award for Level 1-2 Umpire. Not to be outdone, our second winner was Taylor McKnight, from Barrie, who went home with the award for Level 3-4 umpire. Brady Wagenhofer of Newmarket took home the prize for Junior Pitcher of the year, while Jake Brennan of Barrie won the award for Adult player of the year. The biggest honour of the evening went to Sean O'Brien of Newmarket. Sean was awarded the Presdent's award by OBA President David Huctwith, for his long standing commitment to baseball as a player, coach and mentor.
And finally, after 23 years, the YSBA was named Association of the Year.  Congratulations to all the winners.

Congratulations to all the YSBA 2015 Award Winners:

Life Member Award: Dirk Drieberg (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Rep Player Peewee & below: Devon Capitao (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Rep Player Bantam & above: Jake Brennan (Barrie Minor Baseball Assoc)

Rep Pitcher Mosquito to Peewee: Brady Wagenhoffer (Newmarket Baseball Assoc)

Rep Pitcher Bantam & above: Emilio Paglia (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Rep Coach of the Year, Peewee & below: Jeff Winick (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Rep Coach of the Year, Bantam & above: Len Tessarotto (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Rep Team of the Year: Newmarket Hawks Major Peewee AAA

Select Player Peewee & below: Matteo D'Amico (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Select Player Bantam & above: Quin Panoulias (Markham District Baseball Assoc)

Select Pitcher Mosquito to Peewee: Evan Halliday (Beaver Valley Peewee River Rats)

Select Pitcher Bantam & above: Zack Freedman-Lloyd (Innisfill Cardinals Baseball Assoc)

Select Coach Peewee & below: Josh Almond (Beaver Valley River Rats)

Select Team of the Year: Beaver Valley Peewee River Rats

House League Player Peewee & below: Jayden Rai (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

House League Player Bantam & above: Mark Gartner (Barrie Minor Baseball Assoc)

House League Coach Peewee & below: Lindsey Ash (Thornhill Baseball Club)

House League Coach Bantam & above: Jamie Cummins (Barrie Minor Baseball Assoc)

Junior Umpire: Natalie Shears (Markham District Baseball Assoc)

Senior Umpire: Taylor McKnight (Barrie Minor Baseball Assoc)

 Local of the Year: Barrie Minor Baseball Association

Volunteer of the Year - Doug Sutton Award: Rob Hums (Newmarket Baseball Assoc)

Presidents Award: Carrie-Anne McQuaid (Vaughan Baseball Assoc)

Congratulations to 2015 YSBA Provincial Champions

Aurora Rookie AA
Vaughan Peewee AAA
Barrie Peewee AA
Barrie Peewee A
Barrie Minor Mosquito AA
Thornhill Minor Midget AA
Innisfil Midget C


MLB Academy